8 countries who were suspended by ICC


The International Cricket Council (ICC) serves as the overarching authority governing the global sport of cricket. Among its various responsibilities is the organization of cricket’s major global events, including the World Cups, World Test Championship, and Champions Trophy.

Similar to any governing body, the ICC has established its own set of rules and regulations that member nations are required to adhere to. In the event of any breach of these obligations, the council retains the authority to suspend or potentially ban the offending cricket board.

In a recent development, the ICC took the decision to suspend the cricket board of Sri Lanka, known as Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC). This move was prompted by the national government’s takeover of the board. However, this is not the first instance where the ICC has resorted to such a significant measure.

Here, we delve into eight nations whose cricket boards faced suspension by the International Cricket Council:

  • Sri Lanka: Sri Lanka Cricket faced suspension following revelations of corrupt activities within the board. The Sri Lankan Parliament passed a resolution to remove the corrupt management, leading to the ICC’s decision to suspend the cricket board on a Friday. The impact of this suspension on the Sri Lankan men’s and women’s teams remains uncertain.

  • Zimbabwe: Zimbabwe Cricket (ZC) became the first Test-playing nation to be suspended by the ICC on July 18, 2019. The suspension resulted from ZC’s failure to provide a democratic election roadmap and prevent government interference in cricket administration. ICC suspended funding to ZC and barred Zimbabwe from participating in its organized events.

  • Brunei: Brunei, an Asian country and ICC affiliate member for 23 years, faced suspension in 2014. After joining in 1992 and participating in numerous Asian Cricket Council events, Brunei’s failure to comply with seven board laws led to its suspension and eventual expulsion from the list of affiliate members in 2015.

  • Cuba: The Cuban Cricket Commission (CCC) joined as an ICC affiliate member in 2002. In 2013, CCC faced suspension for failing to adhere to ICC guidelines, and their return remains pending.

  • Morocco: Morocco, an African nation, hosted the Morocco Cup in 2002 and joined as an affiliate member in 1999. Non-compliance with four statutes in 2014 led to the ICC revoking Morocco’s membership in 2019.

  • Russia: Russia received a notice from the ICC after the 78th Annual General Meeting in 2021, providing a year to demonstrate compliance. Failure to resolve issues led to the termination of Cricket Russia’s ICC membership on July 26, 2022.

  • Zambia: Zambia received a formal warning in 2014 and a subsequent suspension in 2019 for non-compliance with finance statute 5.3. The ICC terminated Zambia’s membership two years later due to continued breaches.

  • Tonga: Tonga, part of the East Asia-Pacific region, joined as an ICC affiliate member in 2000. Suspended in 2013 for lacking a full-time paid administrator, Tonga had its membership revoked a year later by the ICC. Notably, current Netherlands captain Scott Edwards was born in Tonga.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here