Winning the toss and choosing to bat first, Sediqullah Atal’s 85 steadied the nerves of his team, laying a solid foundation for a competitive total against Australia.
Although the Aussies gradually took control as the game unfolded, Azmatullah Omarzai fought back with a brilliant knock, supported by the lower order.
As the match entered its final stages, Australia sought to wrap up the innings quickly, but a controversial move by Inglis sparked global debate.
On the last ball of the 47th over, Omarzai pushed a back-of-a-length delivery to long-on and retained the strike with a single. As his partner, Noor Ahmad, left the crease to discuss the run with him, Inglis pulled off a crafty move straight out of Alex Carey’s wicketkeeping playbook.
— ashik (@ashik1587212) February 28, 2025
The Australian gloveman swiftly removed the bails as soon as Noor stepped out of the crease and appealed for a runout. According to the rules, Noor should have been out, but captain Smith withdrew the appeal, choosing to honor the ‘Spirit of Cricket.’ The decision set off a flurry of reactions on Twitter.