Capitals suffer tragic collapse as spinners run-riot to hand RCB first-ever title in 17 years


In the final match, Delhi Capitals were given a flying start by Shafali Varma and Meg Lanning, who opted to bat first after winning the toss. Throughout the tournament, this duo had been setting the tone for their team.

While Lanning played it safe, picking up occasional boundaries, Shafali aggressively seized every opportunity, smashing three sixes in the powerplay to push the score to a formidable 61/0. The breakthrough came when Smriti Mandhana introduced Sophie Molineux in the eighth over.

Molineux swiftly dismissed Shafali, followed by Jemimah Rodrigues and Alice Capsey in quick succession, turning the tables in Bangalore’s favor. Lanning fell soon after to Shreyanka Patil’s LBW trap. From there, the Capitals’ innings crumbled, with Asha Shobhana claiming two wickets in one over, and Patil cleaning up the tail, bowling out the hosts for 113.

In response, RCB’s opening pair of Mandhana and Devine started cautiously, reaching 25/0 by the end of the powerplay. Devine’s aggression against Radha Yadav in the seventh over brought a surge of runs, but her dismissal by Shikha Pandey halted the momentum.

Ellyse Perry, in excellent form, steadied the chase alongside Mandhana, who fell with 32 runs still needed and five overs remaining. Perry, joined by Richa Ghosh, kept their nerves to secure victory with three balls to spare, clinching RCB’s first-ever title.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here