Curran denying Pant’s fairytale return at new home venue


Forced to bat first after losing the toss to Punjab Kings, Delhi Capitals witnessed a dynamic start from David Warner and Mitchell Marsh. However, Arshdeep Singh dismissed Marsh in the fourth over, while Warner continued the momentum alongside Shai Hope, amassing 54 runs in the powerplay before falling to Harshal Patel in the eighth over.

Rishabh Pant’s return after 454 days lacked finesse as he departed soon after, followed by Hope and Ricky Bhui, leaving Delhi struggling at 111/5. Punjab capitalized on the pressure, securing three more wickets for just 19 runs. Despite being at 149/8 in the 19th over, Abishek Porel’s late onslaught propelled Punjab to 174/9.

Similarly, Punjab Kings began their innings aggressively with Shikhar Dhawan and Jonny Bairstow, gathering 24 runs off the initial seven deliveries. However, Ishant Sharma’s dismissal of Dhawan in the fourth over, followed by a run out of Bairstow, halted their momentum.

Prabhsimran Singh and Sam Curran revived Punjab with boundaries, amassing 60 runs in the powerplay. Axar Patel and Kuldeep Yadav controlled the middle overs, conceding only 27 runs and dismissing Prabhsimran. Kuldeep further snared Jitesh Sharma, finishing with figures of 4-0-20-2.

Curran accelerated the innings with timely boundaries, and Liam Livingstone added impetus by attacking Khaleel Ahmed. Despite a late surge by Khaleel with two wickets in the 19th over, Punjab clinched victory with Sumit Kumar conceding a six over deep midwicket in the final over, securing their first points in IPL 2024.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here