India vs Sri Lanka, 1st Test – Toss Report and Playing XI


The Sri Lankan captain Dinesh Chandimal won the toss and elect to bowl first in the first test match between India and Sri Lanka.

Dinesh Chandimal: We will have a bowl first. We played some good cricket in UAE. The team put their heart and soul in it. From the last tour, we have made three changes. Today, we are going to 6 batters, 4 bowlers and a fast bowling all-rounder.

Virat Kohli: I don’t think the wicket has so many demons in it. The spinners will come into play from day 3 onwards. First two days will be challenging for the batters. The surface does have grass but does not look that threatening. We have 5 batsmen, Saha, two all-rounders in Ashwin and Jadeja, Umesh, Bhuvi and Shami.


Sri Lanka (Playing XI): Dimuth Karunaratne, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Lahiru Thirimanne, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal(c), Niroshan Dickwella(w), Dasun Shanaka, Dilruwan Perera, Rangana Herath, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Gamage

India (Playing XI): Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli(c), Ajinkya Rahane, Ravichandran Ashwin, Wriddhiman Saha(w), Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here