India’s Finalised World Cup 2023 Squad Leaked


The BCCI selection committee, led by Ajit Agarkar, has reportedly unveiled the 15-member Team India roster for the upcoming ICC ODI World Cup 2023. Notably absent from the squad are Yuzvendra Chahal and Sanju Samson, who were also omitted from the ongoing Asia Cup 2023 team.

According to The Indian Express, Ajit Agarkar traveled to Sri Lanka for a meeting with skipper Rohit Sharma and coach Rahul Dravid to finalize the ODI World Cup 2023 squad. This meeting took place on September 2, following the India vs. Pakistan Asia Cup 2023 match in Pallekele, which was ultimately canceled due to rain.

The report also mentions that the selection committee discussed KL Rahul’s fitness during the meeting and expects him to regain match fitness by the start of the World Cup on October 5. Ishan Kishan retains his position as the backup wicketkeeper, leading to Sanju Samson’s exclusion from the 15-member squad.

KL Rahul had missed the first two matches of the Asia Cup 2023 due to a minor injury but is likely to rejoin the Indian team in Sri Lanka for the Super Fours Stage of the tournament once he recovers. Shreyas Iyer has also retained his place in the squad after recovering from his injury.

In a surprising move, Yuzvendra Chahal, who has been India’s primary spinner for an extended period, has been omitted. Kuldeep Yadav, a chinaman spinner, was preferred over Chahal due to his recent form and the additional dimension he brings to the bowling unit.

While Chahal didn’t make it to the 15-member squad for the prestigious tournament, the selection committee opted for four all-rounders in the team. Alongside Hardik Pandya and Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel and Shardul Thakur were chosen to strengthen the team’s batting depth.

Youngsters Tilak Varma and Prasidh Krishna, both part of the Asia Cup 2023 squad, did not make the cut for the Team India World Cup roster. The pace attack features no surprises, with Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, and Mohammed Siraj forming the core.

Team India World Cup squad (As per reports) : Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here