Kohli, Rohit among 4 Indians selected for ICC Player of Tournament award


The ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Player of the Tournament award nominations feature some stellar names from the cricketing world. Among the nine contenders, four Indians—Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, and Mohammed Shami—stand out, showcasing their exceptional performances in the tournament.

Although the ICC hasn’t officially released the list of contenders on their website or social media, India TV has obtained the exclusive lineup.


Virat Kohli has been a linchpin in India’s batting lineup, displaying outstanding form throughout the tournament. His skill in chasing targets has been evident, scoring crucial innings such as 85 against Australia, an unbeaten 55 against Afghanistan, 103 not out against Bangladesh, and 95 against New Zealand.

When India batted first, Kohli anchored the innings with remarkable performances like his 88 against Sri Lanka, an unbeaten 101 against South Africa, 51 against the Dutch, and a stunning 117 in the semi-final, marking an exceptional run in this tournament.


Rohit Sharma has consistently provided explosive starts in almost every match, setting the tone for the Indian team. While securing one century, his aggressive batting has laid the foundation for big totals. With 550 runs in 10 matches, including one hundred and three fifties, Sharma boasts an impressive average of 55.00 and a striking rate of 124.15, adorned with 62 fours and 28 sixes.


Mohammed Shami emerges as the leading wicket-taker with an impressive haul of 23 wickets in six matches. His standout performances include a five-wicket haul against New Zealand, 4/22 against England, 5/18 against Sri Lanka, 2/18 against South Africa, and a record-breaking 7/57 in the semi-final against New Zealand.


Jasprit Bumrah has been pivotal in India’s bowling attack alongside Shami. Securing 18 wickets in 10 innings with an outstanding bowling average of 18.33, a strike rate of 27.61, and an economy of 3.98, Bumrah has showcased his prowess as a crucial bowler.

Glenn Maxwell, Rachin Ravindra, Adam Zampa, Quinton de Kock, Daryl Mitchell

Beyond the Indian contingent, players like Glenn Maxwell, Ravindra, Adam Zampa, Quinton de Kock, and Daryl Mitchell have also made significant impacts in the tournament. Maxwell’s explosive batting, Ravindra’s standout performances for New Zealand, Zampa’s improved displays, de Kock’s centuries and exceptional wicket-keeping, and Mitchell’s memorable centuries have contributed significantly to the tournament’s excitement and competitiveness.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here