Sourav Ganguly picks his 15-member India squad for the ODI World Cup


Despite the imminent deadline, the BCCI selection panel led by Ajit Agarkar is open to postponing the announcement of India’s preliminary ODI World Cup squad until the final day, September 5th. Agarkar conceded that the squad would closely resemble the existing 17-member team, which also includes a backup player, Sanju Samson.

This backup has been designated for the upcoming Asia Cup set to commence on August 30th. Just before the much-anticipated revelation, former BCCI head Sourav Ganguly has already unveiled his chosen 15 players for the World Cup set to take place in India from October 5th.

Ganguly’s eventual World Cup lineup displays two notable alterations compared to the previously declared Asia Cup roster. The ex-captain of India’s cricket team excluded the young talent Tilak Varma, who had recently earned his debut ODI call-up for the Asia Cup, impressing selectors with a remarkable performance in a five-match T20I series against the West Indies. Ganguly also left out Prasidh Krishna, who made a comeback during the Ireland T20I series after an extended absence due to injury.

Nevertheless, the former Indian opening batsman did select three substitutes for his squad, among them Yuzvendra Chahal. The spinner garnered significant attention after the Asia Cup squad announcement, as he missed out initially due to only one spinner slot being available, filled by Kuldeep Yadav.

Ganguly elaborated, “If any middle-order batter becomes unavailable, we have Tilak Varma. In case of a pace bowler’s unavailability, Prasidh Krishna, and Yuzvendra Chahal for spinners.”

All participating teams, including India, are required to present their provisional World Cup squads by September 5th, in accordance with tournament regulations. So far, only Australia has unveiled their lineup. Teams will, however, have the liberty to make adjustments to the initial squad until the final list must be submitted by September 27th.

The ODI World Cup is scheduled to commence on October 5th at Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium, with defending champions England facing New Zealand in a rematch of the 2019 final. India will play their first match against five-time victors Australia on October 8th in Chennai.

Sourav Ganguly’s 15-member India squad for ODI World Cup: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan (wk), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami, Shardul Thakur.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here