St Kitts & Nevis Patriots win their maiden CPL title in a last ball thriller

St Kitts and Nevis Patriots locked horns with St Lucia Kings in the finals of the 2021 edition of the Caribbean Premier League at the Werner Park in Basseterre. St Lucia Kings reached the finals by defeating Trinbago Knight Riders in the 1st semi final match. SLK had put a huge target in front of TKR. SLP scored 205 runs for the loss of 4 wickets. Trinbago Knight Riders were bowled out for 184 with 3 balls remaining. SLP won the match by 21 runs and booked their seat in the finals of the tournament. In the 2nd semi-final match, the Guyana Amazon Warriors imposed a target of 179. Evin Lewis unbeaten 77 off 39 deliveries helped SNP seal the victory.

Also Read:- Ravindra Jadeja desires to become the captain of CSK after MSD; deletes his tweet moments after replying

Having won the toss, St Lucia Kings elected to bat first. SLP lost their captain Andre Fletcher and Mark Deyal in the powerplay. SLK scored 159 runs at the expense of 7 wickets after the completion of 20 overs. It was because of Rahkeem Cornwall, Roston Chase and Keemo Paul that SLK reached to a respectful total.

Also Read:- Why was Mohammed Siraj left out of India’s T20 World Cup squad? Real Reason Revealed !

While chasing 160, SNP lost Chris Gayle in the first over for a duck. Evin Lewis did not stand in the pitch for long as he was soon dismissed by Wahab Riaz. Joshua Da Silva along with Sherfane Rutherford added a 45-run partnership. Just when their innings was going right on track, SNP lost some quick wickets and were struggling at 95/5. Dominic Drakes came to the rescue and scored a quickfire 48 runs off 24 deliveries which included 3 fours and 3 sixes. Fabian Allen also added some valuable runs in the lower order. In the end it was Dominic Drakes single handed show which took SNP to victory. SNP claimed their first every CPL trophy by winning the match by 3 wickets.

Dwayne Bravo lifted the trophy as St Kitts and Nevis Patriots won the tournament for the first time. Dominic Drakes was given the man of the match award for his match winning performance in the finals. Roston Chase was given the player of the tournament award.

Also Read:- Shakib Al Hasan picks his all-time IPL XI; Chris Gayle and AB de Villiers left out as MS Dhoni is named the captain !

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.