Top 5 lowest totals in IPL history

With the 2nd leg of the 2021 edition of IPL just around the corner let us look at the lowest totals in IPL history.

1. Royal Challengers Bangalore (49) in 2017

RCB holds the record for the lowest score in IPL history. Virat Kohli’s RCB were bowled out for just 49 runs in the 2017 edition of IPL against Kolkata Knight Riders. KKR had set up a target of 132 in front of the visitors. KKR were bowled out for 131. RCB’s batting lineup collapsed in front of the home team. None of the batsmen managed to score a double-digit score. Virat Kohli was the first batsmen to get dismissed. RCB were bowled out in just 9.4 overs. KKR sealed the victory by 82 runs. Chris Woakes, Colin de Grandhomme and Nathan Coulter Nile picked up three wickets each and Umesh Yadav took one wicket.

Also Read:- David Wiese comments on NZ-PAK controversy after a fan pretends to be him

2. Rajasthan Royals (58) in 2009

RR holds the record for the 2nd lowest total in IPL history. In the 2009 edition of IPL, RR scored had up a score of 58 runs in front of RCB. RCB managed to score 133 at the expense of 8 wickets after losing opener Ross Taylor and Jesse Ryder for a duck. Kevin Pieterson and Rahul scored 32 and 66 runs respectively.

Upon chasing the target RR were bowled out for 58 runs in just 15.1 overs. RCB sealed the victory by 74 runs. Anil Kumble picked up a fifer and Praveen Kumar and Jesse Ryder picked up two wickets each.

3. Delhi Capitals (66) in 2017

Delhi Capitals were bowled out for 66 runs against Mumbai Indians in the 2017 edition of IPL. This is the third lowest total by an IPL team. The players of MI had a great time with the bat as they succeeded in scoring 212 runs at the expense of 3 wickets batting first. Lendl Simmons and Kieron Pollard scored 66 and 63 runs respectively. Hardik Pandya scored 29 off 14 deliveries. Delhi Capitals opener Sanju Samson was dismissed for a duck. Most of the players were unable to achieve the double-digit mark. Karun Nair scored the most amount of runs from the Delhi side. Delhi were bowled out in 13.4 overs. MI won the match by 146 runs.

Also Read:- Rajasthan Royals admin does it again: Calls Parvez Rasool Rohit Sharma in hilarious tweet

4. Delhi Capitals (67) in 2017

In the 2017 edition of IPL Delhi Capitals were again bowled out for 67 runs against Kings XI Punjab. Delhi Capitals batting lineup failed miserably. Sam Billings was dismissed for a duck in the first over. Corey Anderson was the highest scorer in the Delhi camp with 18 runs. Delhi Capitals were bowled out for 67 in 17.1 overs.

Punjab Kings won the match by 10 wickets with 73 balls to spare after Martin Guptill and Hashim Amla scored 50 and 16 runs respectively.

5. Kolkata Knight Riders (67) in 2008

In the inaugural season of IPL against Mumbai Indians, KKR managed to score 67 runs batting first. Sourav Ganguly and Ajit Agarkar were the highest run getters from the Kolkata side. The first two wickets fell consecutively in the third over. KKR were bowled out for 67 runs in 15.2 overs. Shuan Pollack managed to pick up three wickets while Dominic Thornely, Rohan Raje, and Dwayne Bravo picked up two wickets each.

MI won the match by 8 wickets in just 5.3 overs of game. Sachin Tendulkar was dismissed for a duck while Sanath Jayasuriya scored an unbeaten 48 runs off 17 deliveries which included 6 fours and 3 sixes at a strike rate of 282.

Also Read:- Top Five Players to Hit Most Sixes in the IPL

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *