WATCH : Arjun Tendulkar’s premature celebration goes wrong after LSG review

0
110

As the toss favored the home side, Hardik Pandya, the Mumbai Indians leader, elected to field first in their final match. In the first over, Nuwan Thusara struck early, dismissing Devdutt Padikkal for a golden duck.

Marcus Stoinis then came to the crease, with Arjun Tendulkar sharing the ball from the other end. Arjun nearly took a wicket and launched into an animated appeal and early celebration, only to see the DRS overturn the original decision.

On the third ball of the second over, Arjun delivered a length ball that jagged back into the right-hander, who attempted to whip it away.

The ball missed the inside edge and struck the pad, prompting an enthusiastic appeal from Arjun. Desperate for the wicket, Arjun saw on-field umpire Rohan Pandit raise his finger after a delay.

However, Stoinis immediately opted for the DRS, which revealed the ball was missing the stumps due to elevation despite two reds.

Replays showed Arjun prematurely celebrating the wicket with a Shikhar Dhawan-style thigh-five. When the final verdict contradicted Arjun’s expectations, Twitter buzzed with reactions to the incident.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here