WATCH : Issy Wong completes her hat-trick, cleans up Sophie Ecclestone for a golden duck


Kiran Navgire attempted to hit the ball but was caught out by Nat Sciver-Brunt at deep mid-wicket. Sciver-Brunt made a good catch over her head and celebrated with Wong. Navgire had shimmied down the track and timed the shot well, but unfortunately, it lacked the required elevation to clear the English allrounder by a couple of meters. Despite Navgire’s effort, the asking rate was too high to keep up with.

Simran Shaikh falls to Wong’s delivery as the ball crashes into the leg-stump. It was a well-executed cross-seam yorker that moved in slightly from leg-stump. As Shaikh cleared her front leg to drive, she missed the ball completely, resulting in the wicket being knocked down. The camera panned to Mitch Starc and Alyssa Healy, who are seen on screen every time a wicket falls for UPW. Wong ran away in jubilation after the dismissal.

Ecclestone is dismissed by Wong, who claims a hat-trick, much to the delight of the crowd inside the DY Patil stadium. After the delivery pitched outside off, Ecclestone tried to drive it, but it ended up being an inside edge that dragged the ball back onto the stumps. The whole MIW team rushed to celebrate with Wong, who was overjoyed with the hat-trick. The sound of the crowd when the ball hit the stumps was nothing short of electrifying.

In the WPL 2023 Eliminator match at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai on Friday, Mumbai Indians have set a target of 183 runs against UP Warriorz. MI finished their innings at 182/4 after 20 overs, thanks to an unbeaten 72-run knock off just 38 balls by Nat Sciver-Brunt. Sophie Ecclestone, the UP Warriorz bowler, claimed two wickets and currently leads the Purple Cap race.

Harmanpreet Kaur and her team dominated the season but two losses in the second half cost them the top spot, which was taken over by Delhi Capitals due to a higher net run rate. UPW secured the third position and will be relying on the leadership of captain Alyssa Healy and Tahlia McGrath.

During the league phase, both teams played against each other twice, with each winning one fixture. In Match 10, MI won by eight wickets, thanks to an unbeaten half-century by Harmanpreet. UPW, on the other hand, won Match 18 by five wickets. The winner of the Eliminator will face DC in the final.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here