WATCH : Jasprit Bumrah Shatters Glenn Maxwell’s Stumps


Amidst the anticipation of cricket fans worldwide, India and Australia collided in the climactic third One Day International (ODI) at Rajkot’s Saurashtra Cricket Association stadium on September 27, 2023. Having secured triumph in the initial two ODIs, India commanded a formidable 2-0 lead in the series. This high-stakes showdown pledged enthralling action from the very outset.

In cricket, the toss frequently establishes the game’s direction, and this occasion was no exception. Australia’s skipper, Pat Cummins, emerged victorious in the toss and faced a pivotal choice: opting to bat first. This calculated decision aimed to initiate an early scoreboard advantage and apply pressure on the Indian squad.

Both teams implemented substantial lineup adjustments, seeking to shift the momentum in their favor. Australia introduced Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, and Tanveer Sangha into their XI, infusing renewed vigor into their squad. Meanwhile, India saw the return of pivotal figures such as Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Mohammed Siraj, and Kuldeep Yadav, reinstating experience and talent to their starting eleven. Washington Sundar was also granted an opportunity, stepping in for R Ashwin.

Australia’s opening duo, David Warner and Mitchell Marsh, formed a potent partnership, providing their team with a robust beginning. Warner, in particular, showcased excellent form, contributing 56 runs to their collaboration. Nevertheless, Prasidh Krishna’s delivery led to Warner’s dismissal, paving the way for Mitchell Marsh to assume control.

The middle overs of an ODI frequently witness pivotal partnerships, and this contest followed suit. Mitchell Marsh, displaying determination following Warner’s exit, joined forces with Steve Smith to craft a partnership that sustained Australia’s aspirations. Collectively, they accumulated a significant 137 runs for the second wicket, causing frustration for the Indian bowlers.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here