WATCH : Labuschagne Trying to Ran Out Ravindra Jadeja


Led by stand-in captain Hardik Pandya, an India team without Rohit Sharma defeated Australia by five wickets on Friday to take a 1-0 lead in the three-match ODI series. After opting to bowl first, the Indian bowlers restricted the visitors to a below-par total of 188 in 35.4 overs.

Despite a solid start from Mitchell Marsh, who scored a blazing 81 off 65 balls with 10 fours and five sixes, the Kangaroos crumbled after he departed in the 20th over.

Australia were in a commanding position at 129/2 before Marsh was dismissed, but India’s bowling attack led by Mohammed Shami prevented them from carrying on the momentum. Shami was exceptional with figures of 3 for 17 in his 6 overs, while Mohammed Siraj claimed 3 wickets for 29 runs and Hardik Pandya chipped in with 1 for 29.

The spinners Ravindra Jadeja and Kuldeep Yadav accounted for the remaining 3 wickets, with Shardul Thakur being the only bowler to go wicketless. Moving on to India’s chase, Mitchell Starc’s impeccable bowling kept India on the defensive.

He got rid of Virat Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav with back-to-back deliveries and also took Shubman Gill’s wicket. Ishan Kishan was caught by Marcus Stoinis, while Hardik Pandya’s valiant effort of scoring 25 off 31 balls came to an end as well, leaving India struggling at 83/5. Ravindra Jadeja (45 off 69 balls) and KL Rahul then took charge and took India across the finish line in 39.5 overs, stabilizing the innings after the early collapse.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here