WATCH : Labuschangne suffers full brunt of DRS Karma


South Africa chose to bat first in a highly charged showdown against Australia and set a challenging target of 212, buoyed by an outstanding century from David Miller. In response, Australia commenced their innings with a rapid pace, as David Warner and Travis Head applied pressure on the bowlers.

However, South Africa stormed back into contention by claiming three crucial wickets, including both openers. As Steve Smith and Marcus Labuschagne confronted the Proteas’ spinners, the Decision Review System (DRS), initially a boon for Labuschagne, turned into a moment of reckoning for the accomplished batsman.

During the 16th over’s fourth delivery, Labuschagne maneuvered in response to Shamsi’s well-pitched ball, turning into the right-hander, only for the ball to spin past the inner edge and strike him on the back pad. South African players appealed, but the umpire dismissed it.

Upon South Africa’s review, hawk-eye revealed the ball hitting the stumps, yet fortunate for Labuschagne, the delivery stood in favor of the umpire’s original decision, granting the Australian batter a narrow escape.

Then, on the penultimate ball of the 22nd over, Labuschagne found himself struck on the pad after attempting a reverse sweep to Shamsi’s well-pitched delivery, turning towards him. Shamsi appealed, and this time, the umpire ruled in favor of the LBW appeal.

Despite Labuschagne’s review, ball-tracking displayed the ball hitting the stumps following the umpire’s original decision, leading to the batter’s downfall. Thus, the DRS that previously spared Labuschagne resulted in his dismissal in the subsequent instance.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here