India initiated their defense of the 240-run total in the World Cup final at Narendra Modi Stadium, relying on the swinging conditions under the floodlights.
The initial over leaked 15 runs, but Mohammad Shami swiftly struck, dismissing David Warner with a catch at slip on the second over’s first ball. Mitchell Marsh’s aggressive innings was cut short by Bumrah, putting pressure on the Australian team to mount a comeback.
The spotlight shifted to the experienced Steve Smith, yet the unfolding events deviated from their anticipated narrative. Bumrah’s masterful leg-cutter trapped the seasoned campaigner LBW, strengthening India’s position.
Employing a slower delivery, the bowler deceived Smith, who aimed to drive the off-stump ball down the ground, only to witness the umpire’s raised finger moments later.
Interestingly, despite a brief discussion with Travis Head, Smith chose not to review the decision. To his dismay, the replay confirmed the impact occurred outside the off stump, highlighting Smith’s erroneous call to walk off in the pivotal juncture of the match.