WATCH : Team India’s short-lived memory as they forget Lord Thakur’s no-ball

The ongoing World Test Championship (WTC) final at The Oval between India and Australia is finely balanced after 36 overs of play. Australia, led by Pat Cummins, reached a score of 125/3 with Steven Smith and Travis Head at the crease.

David Warner was the top-scorer for Australia, scoring a quick 43 off 60 balls before Shardul Thakur, known for providing crucial breakthroughs in tense situations, dismissed him just before the lunch break.

Having enjoyed a successful first session, Shardul continued his bowling spell in the second session. However, he had a shaky start this time, as he overstepped for the first time in the match, granting the opposition an extra run.

Nevertheless, he quickly recovered and conceded only one run off the next five deliveries. But what unfolded next on the field at The Oval left many in stitches.

Almost all the Indian players, including Virat Kohli and KS Bharat, among others, began running across to the other end, assuming the over was complete and preparing for the next one. However, on-field umpires Richard Illingworth and Chris Gaffaney kindly reminded them that there had been a no-ball earlier, and thus, there was still one ball remaining in the over.

The Indian players promptly realized their mistake and hurriedly returned to their original positions. Twitterati found the whole episode amusing, expressing surprise at how all the players had suddenly forgotten about the no-ball.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *