WATCH : Virat Kohli is in fun mood after Asia Cup 2023 Final Match


After opting to bat first, Sri Lanka had to endure a 40-minute delay due to a brief shower before stepping onto the field. Little did they know what chaos awaited them. Jasprit Bumrah initiated the onslaught by dismissing Kusal Perera in the very first over.

Mohammed Siraj then took center stage, making history as he became only the fourth bowler in ODI history to claim four wickets in a single over, sending Pathum Nissanka, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, and Dhananja de Silva packing in the fourth over.

He later equaled the record for the fastest five-wicket haul in ODIs by removing Sri Lanka’s skipper Dasun Shanaka with just his 16th ball of the game. Siraj didn’t stop there, adding a sixth wicket by dismissing Kusal Mendis, who top-scored for Sri Lanka with 17 runs.

Hardik Pandya then joined the party, taking three quick wickets to restrict Sri Lanka to a mere 50 runs, their second-lowest ODI score ever. In response, the Indian team swiftly chased down the target in just 6.1 overs without losing a single wicket.

Skipper Rohit Sharma opted for a backseat role, allowing Ishan Kishan and Shubman Gill to open the innings, and they rewarded his decision with a flurry of boundaries, amassing a total of nine fours between them. Ishan Kishan remained unbeaten on 23, while Shubman Gill finished with an impressive 27 not out.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here