WATCH : Wood’s costly misjudgment handing surprised de Kock second lifeline

0
81

South Africa surged off the blocks on a fresh pitch in St. Lucia, amassing 63 runs in the powerplay without losing a wicket. This impressive start was driven largely by Quinton de Kock’s explosive performance, as the opener blitzed his way to a rapid half-century off just 22 balls, featuring three boundaries and four sixes.

Just when it seemed that de Kock’s potential match-defining innings might come to an untimely end due to an apparent mistake, a blunder from England allowed him to continue his onslaught.

Adil Rashid, after a steady start, returned to bowl the ninth over and attempted to deceive de Kock with a googly. True to his aggressive style, de Kock went for a slog sweep, sending the ball high into the air but failing to connect properly. Mark Wood, positioned at backward square leg, was ready for what appeared to be a straightforward catch.

To everyone’s surprise, Wood stood still as the ball descended rapidly, eventually having to kneel forward to make a catch attempt. The English players quickly gathered to celebrate what they believed was their first breakthrough.

However, upon review, the umpires decided to check the legitimacy of the catch. Replays revealed that Wood had actually let the Kookaburra touch the ground while trying to secure it, allowing de Kock to continue and add another seven runs to his score of 58 before eventually being dismissed again.

The Twitterati were quick to criticize Wood for his seemingly lackadaisical effort, noting that it could have been a pivotal moment in the match.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here