WATCH: Yuzvendra Chahal Strikes on his first ball to dismiss Avishka Fernando

Yuzvendra Chahal has picked up a big wicket on his very first delivery of the Sri Lanka tour in the first ODI between India and the Lankans. This will definitely be a huge confidence booster for the wrist spinner who had been suffering from a bad spell for a couple of months now.

Also Read:- Vitality Blast: Joe Root’s Yorkshire won hearts of every cricket fan

In the match that just started a few hours ago, Sri Lanka won the toss and opted to bat first. Openers Avishka Fernando and Minod Bhanuka started off well and Fernando, especially, was looking to be in good form. He played a brilliant knock of 32 off 35 and that too in the first 5 overs of the match. But his innings was short-lived. Just when Avishka Fernando was turning out to be lethal for the Indian bowlers, Yuzvendra Chahal striked and dismissed the in-form batsman on his very first delivery of the day.

Yuzvendra Chahal’s poor run had started from IPL 2020. IPL is Chahal’s playground and the fact that he failed to outperform some of the younger spinners in the competition, showed clearly that he was missing something. In fact, he was always suffering from a poor form with the national side. This, however, changes today. Getting a wicket on the very first delivery is a big statement and it will definitely add to the spinners confidence for the ongoing series.

India’s playing XI has seen a number of interesting additions for the first ODI. The inclusion of Suryakumar Yadav was expected but choosing Ishan Kishan over Sanju Samson was a bold call provided the fact that Ishan Kishan had been in a terrific form in the practice sessions. Opener Prithvi Shaw has been selected to open alongside captain Shikhar Dhawan. The addition of Kuldeep Yadav to the side has been delightful for all the Indian fans.

India XI: S Dhawan, P Shaw, I Kishan, M Pandey, S Yadav, H Pandya, K Pandya, D Chahar, B Kumar, Y Chahal, K Yadav

Sri Lanka XI: WIA Fernando, M Bhanuka, B Rajapaksa, D de Silva, C Asalanka, D Shanaka, W Hasaranga, C Karunaratne, I Udana, D Chameera, L Sandakan

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.