WATCH:’Hit-wicket’ dismissal of Brendan Taylor raises Controversy – Blunder by Third Umpire?

The Zimbabwean captain Brendon Taylor dismissed in unusual way.

Zimbabwean captain Brendan Taylor dismissed hit wicket in unusual manner in during second ODI against Bangladesh at the Harare Sports Club, Zimbabwe.

The hit-wicket dismissal falls in the grey area in the laws of game. The decision went to third umpire and Taylor walked off when the red light came on.

Also Read:- WATCH: Prithvi Shaw hits three 4s in a row against Sri Lankan pacer Isuru Udana in first ODI

This incident took place in the 25th over of Zimbabwean innings when Taylor attempted to play an upper-cut against left arm quick Shoriful Islam and failed to play the shot and dislodged the stump.

One of the Bangladeshi fielder noticed and appealed the on-field umpire Marais Erasmus referred to the third umpire and the third umpire Langton Rusere adjudged Brendon Taylor as out where as he dislodged the stump when the ball was dead. Taylor got out at 46 at the crucial time in a unusual way .

According to Law 35.1.1.1, batters can be out hit wicket if they put down the wicket with their bat or any part of their person “in the course of any action taken by him/her in preparing to receive or in receiving a delivery.”

The cricketing fraternity is going crazy after this incident and a lot of discussion is going on about this dismissal. Some people are against the third umpire decision while some people are with the decision.

Also Read:- WATCH: Ishan Kishan smashes a huge six on the first ball of his ODI debut against Sri Lanka

Also Read:- WATCH: Kuldeep Yadav picks up two wickets in the same over against Sri Lanka to silence his haters

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.