Former England seamer Jade Dernbach named in Italy’s 15-man T20 World Cup qualifier squad

Former England fast bowler-Jade Dernbach who has been playing for Surrey County Cricket Club will make a return to international cricket. But this time he will not be playing in England’s jersey. Instead, he will return to international cricket in Italian jersey. The latter has been named for Italy’s men squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup qualifiers.

Also Read:- WATCH: Liam Livingstone hits a monstrous 97m six; KL Rahul’s reaction tells the story

Dernbach is eligible to play for Italy through his mother. Dernbach also has an Italian passport. He has been named in the 15-man squad for the upcoming ICC event to be held next month.
Dernbach represented England between 2011 and 2014. In his short span of career of three years, he has played in 24 ODIs and 34 T20Is in which he has managed to pick up 31 wickets in ODIs and 39 wickets in T20Is. Since then, the right arm seamer has not played in a single match for his national team.

Dernbach also gets limited opportunities at Surrey. In order to get some game time the 35 year old was seen playing for Derbyshire on loan in 2021.

Also Read:- WATCH: Fabian Allen takes an incredible Boundary-line catch to dismiss Liam Livingstone

Former Northamptonshire all-rounder Gareth Berg will captain Italy’s side and will also be the head coach of the team. Berg’s teammate at Middlesex and former England international Owais Shah will act as the assistant coach. Kent all-rounder Grant Stewart has also been included in the squad along with Leinster Lightning batter Jamie Grassi.

Italy will play in October’s qualifiers after attaining a high ranking in T20Is. The qualifiers are part of the road to the ICC T20 World Cup 2022. Italy will face Jersey, Germany, and Denmark from October 15-21 in Spain. The top two teams from the group will be progressing to the global qualifiers sometime in 2022.

Italy’s squad: Gareth Berg (captain/head coach), Jade Dernbach, Madupa Fernando, Jamie Grassi, Grant Stewart, Darren Low, Dinidu Marage, Gian-Piero Meade, Joy Perera, Amir Sharif, Baljith Singh, Jaspreet Singh, Manpreet Singh, Nikolai Smith.

Also Read:- Top 5 Wicketkeepers with the Most Dismissals in IPL

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.