Sanju Samson breaks silence after his exclusion from India’s ODI squad against Australia


In a recent statement released by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), the Indian men’s team for the upcoming home series against Australia was unveiled. The announcement came during a virtual press conference led by BCCI’s chief selector, Ajit Agarkar, where he introduced two distinct squads for the ODI series against Australia.

While the roster saw the return of prominent players like Ravichandran Ashwin to the ODI fold, it also featured the strategic decision to rest key figures including Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Kuldeep Yadav, and Hardik Pandya for the initial two ODIs, with their planned return set for the final match.

In Rohit Sharma’s absence, KL Rahul was named captain for the first two matches, with Ravindra Jadeja assuming the role of vice-captain. However, one conspicuous absence from the squad was wicketkeeper-batsman Sanju Samson, a development that prompted disappointment among both fans and former cricketing personalities. Their dissatisfaction found an outlet on social media, where they voiced their concerns regarding Samson’s omission.

Numerous fans argued that Sanju Samson deserved a place in the Indian squad and vented their frustrations across various social media platforms. Amid the fervent discussions and debates, Sanju Samson himself turned to Instagram to convey his perspective on the matter.

He shared a message that conveyed his resilience: “It is what it is!! I choose to keep moving forward.” This statement reflected his determination to maintain focus on his game and persevere despite the setback.

India squad for the first two ODIs: KL Rahul (c and wk), Ravindra Jadeja (vc), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Ishan Kishan (wk), Shardul Thakur, Washington Sundar, R Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna

India squad for the third and final ODI: Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya (vc), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel (subject to fitness), Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, R Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here