WATCH : Five SA wickets fall in final over to hand Tasmania victory

On Sunday, Tasmania Women won the Women’s National Cricket League for the second year running after holding their nerve in a tense final at the Bellerive Oval. They set a target of 265, thanks to a brilliant century by skipper Ellyse Villani and a crucial 75 by Naomi Stalenberg.

However, in the early stages of their defence, the Tigers seemed to be struggling. Emma de Broughe and Courtney Webb helped to keep the scoreboard ticking, but with six overs to go and 45 runs left to get, light showers interrupted play.

Eventually, DLS brought the equation down to 23 runs off 18 balls. Annie O’Neil and Jemma Barsby came in for Tasmania and made rapid contributions, meaning only four runs were needed off the final over with five wickets in hand.

However, what followed was a dramatic collapse as the side only managed to score two runs off their six balls and lost five wickets in the process. Pacer Sarah Coyte bowled over O’Neil before Barsby succumbed to a stumping.

Amanda-Jade Wellington attempted a single but was unsuccessful, and tailender Ella Wilson was caught dead in front of the wicket. With two runs required off the final ball, Kate Peterson and Anesu Mushangwe sprinted for two, but a runout was inevitable, and Tasmania won by just one run.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *