WATCH : Guyana Warriors clinch maiden CPL title with a maximum followed by wild celebrations


The long-awaited moment arrived for the Guyana Amazon Warriors (GAW) as they put an end to their trophy drought by securing the coveted CPL title in a thrilling final showdown against the Trinbago Knight Riders (TKR) in Guyana on Sunday, September 24.

In a moment of pure cricketing magic, Pakistani sensation Saim Ayub smashed a breathtaking straight six to seal a resounding victory, igniting a wild celebration as the players rushed onto the field, led by their captain, Imran Tahir.

The Warriors had been longing for this moment after numerous attempts, and their journey to glory in this CPL season was nothing short of remarkable. They displayed sheer dominance throughout, including an outstanding round-robin stage where they clinched the top spot on the points table with eight wins and just one loss.

As the final unfolded, there was little doubt about the outcome right from the start. Guyana executed their game plan flawlessly. Winning the toss and choosing to field first, the Warriors showcased clinical bowling prowess, dismantling the formidable Trinbago Knight Riders’ batting lineup, restricting them to a mere 94 runs in 18.1 overs. In response, the home team chased down the target comfortably in just 14 overs, with nine wickets in hand.

Dwaine Pretorius earned the well-deserved title of Player of the Match for his sensational performance, registering figures of 4/26 off his allotted four overs. Adding the finishing touch to this memorable final, Saim Ayub continued his consistent form with his fourth half-century of the tournament, further solidifying the Guyana Amazon Warriors’ triumphant journey.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here