5 Best Super Over Matches in IPL history

With the 2nd leg of the 2021 edition of IPL just around the corner, let us look at some of the best super matches in IPL history.

1. CSK vs KXIP (2010)

The match between the two franchises was a special moment for the fans as MS Dhoni and Yuvraj Singh faced each other. In 2010, Dhoni was unable to play some of the matches due to hand injury.

Batting first KXIP managed to score 130 runs after the completion of 20 overs. CSK had a good start to the innings. They scored 97 runs at the expense of 2 wickets in 12.5 overs. But in the next 5 overs, CSK lost 6 more wickets. CSK needed 10 runs in the final over of the game but they managed to score 9 runs.

CSK batted first in the super over and scored 10 runs. KXIP chased the target easily as Mahela Jayawardene scored 6 runs and Yuvraj Singh scored the rest.

Also Read:- Chris Gayle tweets “I’m going to Pakistan tomorrow” after NZ calls off the limited over series

2. KXIP vs RR (2015)

Batting first RR imposed a target of 192 in front of the home team. KXIP scored 120 runs at the expense of 4 wickets after the completion of 15 overs. KXIP needed 72 runs off 30 deliveries. David Miller had put up a brilliant performance in front of the home crowd and led his team to a commanding position before getting out in the 18th over. KXIP required 14 runs in the last over. It was because of Axar Patel’s last ball boundary that KXIP reached to the super over.

KXIP scored 15 runs in the super over with the help of three consecutive fours from Shuan Marsh’s bat. Miller was dismissed in the first ball. RR required 16 runs to seal the victory but left arm pacer Mitchell Johnson spoiled RR’s innings. Johnson conceded 5 runs and picked up 2 wickets.

3. RCB vs DD (2013)

Delhi Daredevils scored 152 runs after being put to bat in the 1st innings. While chasing the total RCB lost two wickets for 26 runs. But it was followed by a record-breaking partnership of 103 runs by Virat Kohli and AB De Villiers. RCB were in full control of the game at 129/2 before losing AB De Villiers in the final ball of the 16th over. In just 17 deliveries RCB lost another 5 wickets for 9 runs. RCB needed 12 runs off the final over but Ravi Rampaul and Vinay Kumar managed to score just 11. It was because of AB De Villiers two sixes that RCB scored 15 runs in the super over. Ravi Rampaul finished DD’s super innings by picking up both wickets and conceding 11 runs. Virat Kohli was awarded the man of the match award for his 65-run knock.

Also Read:- Top 5 lowest totals in IPL history

4. KKR vs RR (2014)

After electing to bat first RR had put up a target of 153 runs in front of the home team. KKR required 16 off 12 deliveries with 7 wickets in hand. James Faulkner bowled a brilliant 19th over conceding 4 runs and picking up 3 wickets. KKR required 12 runs in the final over but managed to score 11 runs in the final over which resulted in a tie. KKR managed to score 11 runs in the super over batting first. RR required 12 runs but were struggling to get runs off Sunil Narine’s bowling. RR managed to score 11 runs after the end of the super over which resulted in another tie. However, RR were declared as the winner of the match on the basis of boundary count rules.

5. MI vs GL (2017)

Batting first Gujrat Lions had imposed a target of 154 runs in front of the home team. MI were cruising towards the victory as they required 15 runs in the last two overs with 5 wickets in hand. But Basil Thampi’s penultimate over changed the game for MI. MI were under huge pressure as Basil Thampi picked 3 wickets and conceded 4 runs. It was because of Jadeja’s heroics in the field that MI scored 10 runs in the final over. Jadeja dismissed two batsmen with direct hits in the final over. Pollard scored a four and a six which helped MI score 11 in the super over. Jasprit Bumrah’s conceded 6 runs in the super over and won the match for MI.

Also Read:- David Wiese comments on NZ-PAK controversy after a fan pretends to be him

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *